Narendra Modi

10 MPs fired by BJP from various panels because of low attendance


When Narendra Modi took office as the Prime Minister of India in May 2014, the first thing he did was to enforce some ground rules about punctuality and efficiency in place for his officials and ministers. Now, setting an example of efficiency and diligence, BJP dropped 10 MPs from various panels for inadequate attendance.

Vinod Khanna, S S Ahluwalia, Dushyant Singh, Ramesh Pokhriyal, Varun Gandhi, Darshana Jadosh, Sanjay Jaiswal, Om Birla, Nand Kumar Chauhan and Pankaj Chaudhary are the MPs who have been removed from three parliamentary panels. Additionally, another MP, Kirti Azad, was also removed but he has been suspended from the party on disciplinary grounds.

Speaking at a meeting of the BJP parliamentary party on Tuesday, parliamentary affairs minister Venkaiah Naidu said MPs were expected to work diligently in standing committees and other panels. The decision has resulted in some discontent, with some of the affected MPs arguing that they were on party duty for elections and that’s why missed meetings of parliamentary panels. Their excuses were not entertained and Mr. Venkaiah Naidu made it clear to them that there can’t be any exceptions.

BJP has cautioned MPs that if they fail to attend at least 50% of the meetings of committees and other parliamentary panels, they would be shifted out and replaced by others.

This is a good move, as it will make sure all those in power will work efficiently for the people of our country.