Andhra Pradesh and Telangana to get more Assembly seats


Andhra Pradesh Chief Minister N. Chandrababu Naidu and his Telangana counterpart K. Chandrasekhar Rao might have had different stands in issues regarding the AP Reorganisation Act, but both the CMs have agreed on one aspect: increasing the number of Assembly seats in both states.

In fact, the Reorganisation Act states that the Assembly constituencies in Telangana and AP would be enhanced from 119 and 175 to 153 and 225 respectively and delimitation of constituencies would come into effect from 2019 elections.

Parliament had brought an amendment to Art 170 (delimitation of Assembly and Parliament constituencies) in 2008 stating that there would be no alterations in the existing constituencies till 2026 in the entire country.

The AP Reorganisation Act, however, provides for increase of Assembly seats in both the states, authorizing the EC to take up fresh delimitation. Now it is for the Union home ministry to bring an amendment to the AP Reorganisation Act by adding a few sentences to make fresh delimitation for increase of seats overriding the provisions in Article 170.

This is great news for aspiring legislators in these two states.