All You Need To Know About Nuclear Suppliers Group and India’s Interest In It


Nuclear Suppliers Group (NSG) is a group of nuclear supplier countries that seek to prevent nuclear proliferation by controlling the export of materials, equipment and technology that can be used to manufacture nuclear weapons. India has been trying to be a part of the NSG but several countries have been opposing India’s entry into NSG. Here’s all you need to know about it.

1. Establishment of NSG:


NSG was established in 1975 in response to India’s first nuclear test in 1974.

2. Members of NSG:


Overall, there are 48 members of the NSG; with 5 nuclear power states and 43 other members.

3. Role of NSG:


NSG seeks to control trade of nuclear material to curb nuclear arms proliferation and also tries to ensure that the nuclear material procured for civil purposes isn’t used for nuclear weapons.

4. Why India wants to be a part of NSG:


As NSG controls nuclear trade, being a member of that gives the opportunity to freely use nuclear material and technology from other nations.

5. India’s civil nuclear power:


Out of the entire power generated in the country, 2.2% is generated through nuclear power. It is predicted that by 2030, 40% of all the power generated in India would be through nuclear power. Right now, 5,780 MW of power is generated by nuclear energy and by 2032, the target is 63GW.

6. Commercial advantages of India being a part of NSG:


India can become an exporter of nuclear energy as being a NSG member would give India access to more fuel and a global market. It will be an opportunity for Indian industry to tap the global market.

7. Political and Strategic advantages of India being a part of NSG:


The decisions made in NSG are based on consensus of all the members; not the majority. So with this, India will become one of the decision makers regarding the supply of nuclear fuel and technology. It will also give India a boost in Asia’s politics; as China is one of the members of the NSG.

8. Why isn’t India being made a part of NSG:


Several countries like China have raised an issue regarding the fact thatIndia hasn’t signed Nuclear Non-proliferation Treaty (NPT) or Comprehensive Test Ban Treaty (CTBT). According to these countries, by signing these international agreements, India will show it’s commitment to non-proliferation.

9. Why hasn’t India signed NPT:


As per NPT, only the five permanent members of United Nations are allowed to keep and develop nuclear weapons. This treaty is very discriminatory and that is the reason India hasn’t signed this.

10. Recent Updates:


India’s application comes up for review at the NSG meet in Vienna on June 9. Switzerland supported India when PM Modi visited Geneva a few weeks ago but later chose to not support. India is backed by four out of the five permanent members of the UN, with China being the only opposition. USA, Russia, Australia and a few other countries have extended their support to India.